Reviews > Storage > OCZ Vector 150 240 Gigabyte Review

OCZ Vector 150 240 Gigabyte Review

Published by Marc Büchel on 07.11.13 (9159 reads)
Page:
(1) 2 3 4 ... 10 »

With their Vector series solid state disks OCZ has some very solid and well performing drives in their line-up. Today the US maker of SSDs launches the successor, which goes by the name Vector 150. Ahead of the actualy launch we received a Vector 150 with 240 Gigabyte for testing and we're quite curious what it is that the Americans were actually able to improve, on the already good, Vector drive.



  Article in English   Artikel in Deutsch   Article en français   Articolo in Italiano




Specifications / Delivery


Model Vector 150 120 Gigabyte Vector 150 240 Gigabyte Vector 150 480 Gigabyte
Capacity 120 GB 240 GB 480 GB
Form Factor 2.5'', 7 mm 2.5'', 7 mm 2.5'', 7 mm
Memory
  • MLC Toggle NAND
  • 19nm
  • ~3'000 P/E-cycles
  • MLC Toggle NAND
  • 19nm
  • ~3'000 P/E-cycles
  • MLC Toggle NAND
  • 19nm
  • ~3'000 P/E-cycles
Endurance 5 years @ 50 GB/day 5 years @ 50 GB/day 5 years @ 50 GB/day
Controller Indilinx Barefoot 3 Indilinx Barefoot 3 Indilinx Barefoot 3
Model Toshiba bla bla 19nm Toshiba bla bla 19nm Toshiba bla bla 19nm
Throughput
  • 550 MB/s sequential read
  • 450 MB/s sequential write
  • 80'000 IOPS 4K random read
  • 95'000 IOPS 4K random write
  • 550 MB/s sequential read
  • 530 MB/s sequential write
  • 90'000 IOPS 4K random read
  • 95'000 IOPS 4K random write
  • 550 MB/s sequential read
  • 530 MB/s sequential write
  • 100'000 IOPS 4K random read
  • 95'000 IOPS 4K random write
Accesstime (read) < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms
Acoustics no noise no noise no noise
Warranty 5 Years 5 Years 5 Years
Price

129.99 USD

239.99 USD

499.99 USD





It has been almost exactly one year, that OCZ released their first Vector SSD series. In our review on the first Vector we mentioned that it is a solid drive, which performed very good and it's even able to keep with todays fastest drives. So, what could have possibly been improved with the new Vector 150?

First of all we want to have a look at what stayed the same. Apparently the Indilinx IDX500M00-BC controller, which OCZ was using in the original Vector is a really good controller, since the new Vector 150 uses the same chip. Nevertheless there is one thing about the Vector 150 line-up which we think is worth mentioning. Since OCZ is proud of being at the forefront of SSD development we would have expected that there was a 960 Gigabyte Version of this drive, but so far the largest drive is a 480 Gigabyte model.

Now to the improvements: one upgrade concerns the NAND chips. OCZ decided to equip the Vector 150 with 19 nanometre Toogle NAND from Toshiba, which offers 3'000 P/E cycles, which is basically a very reasonable value. Other than that OCZ is using almost nine percent of the drives capacity for overprovisioning purposes. Overprovisioning is helping with endurance, sustained performance as well as keeping the warranty high. Especially when it comes to endurance OCZ offers quite an improvement over the first Vector drive. With the Vector 150, OCZ now advertises that the drive can withstand 50 Gigabyte write per day over a five year period, which is 150 percent more than what the original Vector had to offer (20 Gigabyte per day for five years). This 150 percent improvement is what influenced the name of the Vector 150, which means, that OCZ must be rather proud of this level of endurance.

Included in delivery there is a copy of Acronis True Image as well as a 3.5 inch adapter. Meanwhile we would love to see two versions of SSDs hitting retail: one that comes with and another that ships without bundle, whereas the bulk version should be a bit cheaper. There are quite a few users out there in the wild, that already own an SSD and they want to upgrade, meaning they won't really need the accessories, since they might have bought them with their first SSD already.


Page 1 - Introduction Page 6 - Random write KByte/s
Page 2 - Impressions Page 7 - Random read KByte/s
Page 3 - How do we test? Page 8 - Random write IOPS
Page 4 - Sequential write KByte/s Page 9 - Random read IOPS
Page 5 - Sequential read KByte/s Page 10 - Conclusion



Tags: SSD   OCZ   Storage   Vector   Vector 150   Solid State Drive   240 GB  


Navigate through the articles
Previous article Samsung 840 Evo 120 Gigabyte Review OCZ Deneva 2 R 200 GB eMLC Review Next article
comments powered by Disqus

Select Language
Advertisment
Comments
Advertisment
Advertisment
Who is Online
122 user(s) are online (61 user(s) are browsing Reviews)

Members: 0
Guests: 122

more...








-->

Reviews > Speichermedien > OCZ Vector 150 240 Gigabyte Review

OCZ Vector 150 240 Gigabyte Review


Published by Marc Büchel on 07.11.13 (25165 reads)
Page:
(1) 2 3 4 ... 10 »

Mit der Vector Serie hat OCZ eine Linie von soliden Solid State Drives im Angebot, die zudem sehr schnell sind. Heute stellt der US-Amerikanische Hersteller von SSDs mit der Vector 150 den Nachfolger vor. Bereits vor dem Launch erhielten wir ein Laufwerk um genauer zu untersuchen, wie es denn um dieses Drive bestellt ist. Ehrlich gesagt, waren wir durchaus gespannt was OCZ an der Vector denn noch verbessern wollte, denn an und für sich handelt es sich bereits um ein sehr gutes Drive.



  Article in English   Artikel in Deutsch   Article en français   Articolo in Italiano




Spezifikationen / Lieferumfang


Modell Vector 150 120 Gigabyte Vector 150 240 Gigabyte Vector 150 480 Gigabyte
Kapazität 120 GB 240 GB 480 GB
Formfaktor 2.5'', 7 mm 2.5'', 7 mm 2.5'', 7 mm
Speicher
  • MLC Toggle NAND
  • 19nm
  • ~3'000 P/E-cycles
  • MLC Toggle NAND
  • 19nm
  • ~3'000 P/E-cycles
  • MLC Toggle NAND
  • 19nm
  • ~3'000 P/E-cycles
Lebensdauer 5 Jahre @ 50 GB/Tag 5 Jahre @ 50 GB/Tag 5 Jahre @ 50 GB/Tag
Kontroller Indilinx Barefoot 3 Indilinx Barefoot 3 Indilinx Barefoot 3
Modell Toshiba bla bla 19nm Toshiba bla bla 19nm Toshiba bla bla 19nm
Durchsatz
  • 550 MB/s sequential read
  • 450 MB/s sequential write
  • 80'000 IOPS 4K random read
  • 95'000 IOPS 4K random write
  • 550 MB/s sequential read
  • 530 MB/s sequential write
  • 90'000 IOPS 4K random read
  • 95'000 IOPS 4K random write
  • 550 MB/s sequential read
  • 530 MB/s sequential write
  • 100'000 IOPS 4K random read
  • 95'000 IOPS 4K random write
Zugriffszeit (lesend) < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms
Schalldruck lautlos lautlos lautlos
Garantie 5 Jahre 5 Jahre 5 Jahre
Preis

129.99 USD

239.99 USD

499.99 USD





Vor ziemlich genau einem Jahr stellte OCZ das erste Modell der Vector Serie vor. In unserem damaligen Review stellte sich heraus, dass es sich um eine solide aber nicht ganz günstige SSD handelt, deren Leistungswerte sehr gut waren und immer noch sind. Somit kann man sich berechtigterweise die Frage stellen, was OCZ denn neben einem tieferen Preis noch mit einer überarbeiteten Vector SSD bieten kann und will.

Zuerst wollen wir nicht auf die Änderungen eingehen sondern auf das was OCZ beibehalten hat. Offensichtlich ist man bei OCZ mit dem Indilinx IDX500M00-BC Controller immer noch bestens zufrieden, denn anders kann man es sich kaum erklären weshalb sich der Herstller auch bei der Neuauflage der Vector wieder auf diesen Controller setzt. Schauen wir uns das Line-up genauer an, dann vermissen wir aber leider ein Drive mit mehr als 500 Gigabyte Kapazität. Selbstverständlich werden sich nur die wenigsten User eine solch teure SSD leisten, geschweige denn leisten können, da OCZ sich aber als Vorreiter bei SSDs sieht, hätten wir uns gefreut auch ein Modell mit 960 Gigabyte im Portfolio zu finden.

Nun zu den Verbesserungen: Ein Upgrade, das vorgenommen wurde, betrifft die NAND Flash Chips, die verbaut werden. In diesem Fall kommt nun nicht mehr 25-Nanometer-NAND zum Einsatz sondern 19-Nanometer-Toggle-NAND von Toshiba. Dieses ist spezifiziert auf 3'000 P/E-Zyklen, was im Falle von 19 Nanometer MLC NAND durchaus attraktiv ist. Darüber hinaus hat sich OCZ dazu entschieden knapp neun Prozent des Speicherplatzes für Overprovisioning zu reservieren. Dadruch ist es dem Hersteller letztlich möglich Lebensdauer, kontinuierliche Leistung sowie auch Garantie hoch zu halten, sprich weiter zu verbessern. Vor allem hinsichtlich der Ausdauer des Drives will sich einiges getan haben. Bei der Vector von vor einem Jahr gab OCZ an, dass das Drive mit einem Schreibaufkommen von durchschnittlich 20 Gigabyte pro Tag über fünf Jahre hinweg fertig wird. Diesen Wert hat man nun auf 50 Gigabyte pro Tag steigern können und gibt ebenfalls einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren an. Unterm Strich entspricht dies einer Steigerung um 150 Prozent, woher letztlich auch der Produktname der Vector 150 kommt.

Im Lieferumfang enthalten, ist zudem eine Kopie von Acronis Ture Image sowie ein 3.5-Zoll-Adapter. Mittlerweile sind wir der Ansicht, dass es toll wäre, wenn SSD Hersteller auch nackte Versionen der SSDs anbieten würden, wobei schlicht und ergreifend ausschliesslich das Drive geliefert wird. In diesem Zusammenhang könnte dann aber der Preis gesenkt werden, wodurch das Drive besonders für Enthusiasten noch attraktiver würde.


Seite 1 - Einleitung Seite 6 - Zufälliges Schreiben KByte/s
Seite 2 - Impressionen Seite 7 - Zufälliges Lesen KByte/s
Seite 3 - Wie testen wir? Seite 8 - Zufälliges Schreiben IOPS
Seite 4 - Sequentielles Schreiben KByte/s Seite 9 - Zufälliges LesenIOPS
Seite 5 - Sequentielles Lesen KByte/s Seite 10 - Fazit




Navigate through the articles
Previous article Samsung 840 Evo 120 Gigabyte Review OCZ Deneva 2 R 200 GB eMLC Review Next article
comments powered by Disqus