Reviews > Storage > OCZ Vertex 450 256 GB Review

OCZ Vertex 450 256 GB Review

Published by Marc Büchel on 23.05.13 (12373 reads)
Page:
(1) 2 3 4 ... 12 »

With the Vertex 450 OCZ officially launches their second product that features 20 nanometer NAND from the Intel/Micron joint venture. With the Vertex 3.20 they introduced these 20nm chips to the market and now their equipping their faster Vertex 4 with the same NAND flash chips. We're really curious to see what they've come up with. The Vertex 450 with 256 Gigabyte could be a really interesting drive and when the price hits a sweet spot, then it will definitely sell well.




  Article in English   Artikel in Deutsch   Article en français   Articolo in Italiano




Specifications / Delivery


Model OCZ Vertex 450 128 Gigabyte OCZ Vertex 450 256 Gigabyte OCZ Vertex 450 512 Gigabyte
Capacity 128 Gigabyte 256 Gigabyte 512 Gigabyte
Form Factor 2.5'', 9.3/7mm 2.5'', 9.3 mm/7mm 2.5'', 9.3 mm/7mm
Memory Synchronous NAND, 20nm, 3'000 P/E-cycles Synchronous NAND, 20nm, 3'000 P/E-cycles Synchronous NAND, 20nm, 3'000 P/E-cycles
Technology Intel 29-... Intel 29-F128C08CFABB Intel 29-...
Throughput 525 MB/s sequential read
290 MB/s sequential write
75'000 IOPS 4K random read
70'000 IOPS 4K random write
540 MB/s sequential read
525 MB/s sequential write
85'000 IOPS 4K random read
90'000 IOPS 4K random write
540 MB/s sequential read
530 MB/s sequential write
85'000 IOPS 4K random read
90'000 IOPS 4K random write
Accesstime (read) < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms
MTBF 2'000'000 hours 2'000'000 hours 2'000'000 hours
Acoustics no noise no noise no noise
Warranty 3 Years 3 Years 3 Years


Since OCZ launched their Vector series, their Vertex drive don't hold the performance within the manufacturers entire line-up. These days OCZ is trying to position the Vertex 450 with a sweet price and really good performance. Furthermore the manufacturer is underlining the reliability of its drives. In this case they say, that the Vertex 450 should survive writing 20 Gigabyte per day within the three year warranty time frame without breaking a sweat.



With the Vertex 450 you get OCZ's Barefoot 3 M10 controller which the company develops inhouse. According to the block diagram we can see that the controller is based on an ARM architecture. Additionally OCZ optimized the clock generator towards lower power consumption. In other words this means, they've lowered the internal clock speeds in order to make the drive more energy efficient. Furthermore this drive ships with AES 256 Bit encryption as well as an ECC engine which is taking care of error corrections. On the right hand side of the diagram you can see that OCZ equips the Vertex 450 with an additional DRAM cache, which in the end helps improving the performance. When it comes to the NAND interface, OCZ uses and eight channel ONFI/Toggle interface.

Like with the Vertex 3.20 OCZ has changed the type of NAND flash memory they are using, when comparing the drive to the Vertex 4. The Vertex 450 drives features NAND flash, that has been manufactured using 20 nanometer structures. In case of the original Vertex 4, OCZ has been using NAND flash memory with 25 nanometer structures. When it comes to the manufacturing process of NAND flash, then a customer gets an upside as well as a downside at the same time. Let's talk about the upside first: a shrink enables the manufacturer to put more memory chips on one 300 millimeter wafer. In other words the manufacturing process becomes more cost efficient. This cost efficiency is going to be carried to the end user who actually buys these products for a lower price. The downside however is, that making the structures smaller causes the P/E-cycles to drop. Most 25 nanometer MLC NAND flash chips featured a P/E-cycle count of either 5'000 or 3'000. Intels 29-F128C08CFABB 20 nanometer chips - the ones you find on the Vertex 450 - are validated at 3'000 P/E-cycles. So basically, these 20 nanometer chips offer the same level of endurance like the 25 nanometer chips one can find on Kingston HyperX 3k SSD.


Page 1 - Introduction / Specs Page 7 - Random read KByte/s
Page 2 - Impressions Page 8 - Sequential write ops
Page 3 - How do we test? Page 9 - Sequential read ops
Page 4 - Sequential write KByte/s Page 10 - Random write ops
Page 5 - Sequential read KByte/s Page 11 - Random read ops
Page 6 - Random write KByte/s Page 12 - Conclusion



Discuss this article in the forum







Navigate through the articles
Previous article OCZ Vertex 3.20 240 GB Review Corsair Voyager Air Next article
Rating 3.24/5
Rating: 3.2/5 (51 votes)
comments powered by Disqus

The comments are owned by the author. We aren't responsible for their content.
Author Thread
Select Language
Advertisment

Comments
Advertisment

Advertisment
Who is Online
70 user(s) are online (38 user(s) are browsing Reviews)

Members: 1
Guests: 69

rewarder, more...

Reviews > Speichermedien > OCZ Vertex 450 256 GB Review

OCZ Vertex 450 256 GB Review

Published by Marc Büchel on 23.05.13 (12379 reads)
Page:
(1) 2 3 4 ... 12 »

Mit der Vertex 450 wagt OCZ auch im Falle der Vertex 4 den Schritt in Richtung 20 Nanometer NAND von Intel/Micron. Mit der Vertex 3.20 hat man bereits ein Drive im Angebot, das mit demselben Speicher bestückt ist und nun stattet man auch die performantere Vertex 4 Linie mit diesen Chips aus. Insgesamt kann man gespannt sein was dieses Drive zu leisten im Stande ist und darüber hinaus interessiert es uns brennend wie OCZ den Preis ansetzt, denn unter dem Strich könnte es sich bei der Vertex 450 mit 256 Gigabyte um ein sehr interessantes Laufwerk handeln.




  Article in English   Artikel in Deutsch   Article en français   Articolo in Italiano




Spezifikationen / Lieferumfang


Modell OCZ Vertex 450 128 Gigabyte OCZ Vertex 450 256 Gigabyte OCZ Vertex 450 512 Gigabyte
Kapazität 128 Gigabyte 256 Gigabyte 512 Gigabyte
Formfaktor 2.5'', 9.3/7mm 2.5'', 9.3 mm/7mm 2.5'', 9.3 mm/7mm
Speicher Synchrones NAND, 20nm, 3'000 P/E-cycles Synchrones NAND, 20nm, 3'000 P/E-cycles Synchrones NAND, 20nm, 3'000 P/E-cycles
Technologie Intel 29-... Intel 29-F128C08CFABB Intel 29-...
Durchsatz 525 MB/s sequential read
290 MB/s sequential write
75'000 IOPS 4K random read
70'000 IOPS 4K random write
540 MB/s sequential read
525 MB/s sequential write
85'000 IOPS 4K random read
90'000 IOPS 4K random write
540 MB/s sequential read
530 MB/s sequential write
85'000 IOPS 4K random read
90'000 IOPS 4K random write
Zugriffszeit (lesend) < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms < 0.1 ms
MTBF 2'000'000 Stunden 2'000'000 Stunden 2'000'000 Stunden
Schalldruck lautlos lautlos lautlos
Garantie 3 Jahre 3 Jahre 3 Jahre


Nachdem OCZ die Vector-Serie auf den Markt brachte, wurde die Vertex-Serie als performanteste Linie des Herstellers abgelöst. Mittlerweile will OCZ mit der Vertex 450 einen knackigen Preispunkt treffen und darüber hinaus Leistung satt bieten. Hinzu kommt, dass der Hersteller seit geraumer Zeit verstärkt mit der Zuverlässigkeit seiner Drives wirbt. Bezüglich des hier vorliegen Drives gibt OCZ an, dass während des Garantiezeitraums problemlos 20 Gigabyte pro Tag geschrieben werden können, ohne dass Probleme auftreten.



OCZ setzt bei der Vertex 450 auf den hauseigenen Barefoot 3 M10 Controller. Anhand des Block-Diagrams sieht man, dass die Basis des Controllers ein ARM Cortex Prozessor ist. Hinzu kommt, dass OCZ anlässlich der Vertex 450 den Clock Generator hinsichtlich Stromverbrauch optimiert hat. In anderen Worten heisst das natürlich, dass die Taktraten leicht gesenkt wurden, damit das Drive energieeffizienter seinen Dienst verrichtet. Ferner bekommt man zu sehen, dass OCZ mit diesem Drive standardmässig eine AES 256 Bit Verschlüsselung bietet sowie eine ECC Fehlerkorrektur. Darüber hinaus gibt es einen DRAM Cache, der dabei hilft die Performance noch etwas zu steigern. Das NAND-Flash-Speicher-Array bindet OCZ bei diesem Laufwerk über ein ONFI/Toggle Interface an.

Wie bei der Vertex 3.20 setzt OCZ nun auch bei der Vertex 450 auf NAND-Flash-Speicher der über 20 Nanometer breite Strukturen verfügt. Auch OCZ hat mittlerweile den Schritt hin zu MLC NAND von Intel/Micron gewagt, das im 20-Nanometer-Verfahren hergestellt wird. Als Vergleich dazu: Bei der Vertex 4 kam NAND mit 25 Nanometer breiten Sturkturen zum Einsatz. Ein Shrink, sprich eine Verkleinerung des Herstellungsprozesses bringt immer einen Vorteil sowie einen Nachteil mit sich. Der Vorteil liegt darin, dass man aus einem 300-Millimeter-Wafter mehr funktionierende Chips gewinnen kann und die Produktion insgesamt kosteneffizienter wird. Diese gesteigerte Kosteneffizienz erreicht letztlich auf verhältnismässig direktem Wege den Endkunden, in Form von Preisreduktionen. Den Nachteil findet man schliesslich bei der maximalen Anzahl P/E-Zyklen (Program/Erase-Cycles), sprich die Anzahl, wieviele Mal das NAND wiederbeschrieben werden kann. Je nach Typ, fand man bei den 25-Nanometer-NAND-Flash-Speicherchips 5'000 oder 3'000 P/E-Zyklen. Führt man sich die Spezifikationen des Intel 29-F128C08CFABB-Speichers zu Gemüte, dann findet sieht man, dass dieser neue 20-Nanometer-Speicher 3'000 P/E-Zyklen überstehen soll.


Seite 1 - Einleitung / Specs Seite 7 - Zufälliges Lesen KByte/s
Seite 2 - Impressionen Seite 8 - Sequentielles Schreiben ops
Seite 3 - Wie testen wir? Seite 9 - Sequentielles Lesen ops
Seite 4 - Sequentielles Schreiben KByte/s Seite 10 - Zufälliges Schreiben ops
Seite 5 - Sequentielles Lesen KByte/s Seite 11 - Zufälliges Lesen ops
Seite 6 - Zufälliges Schreiben KByte/s Seite 12 - Fazit



Artikel im Forum diskutieren







Navigate through the articles
Previous article OCZ Vertex 3.20 240 GB Review Corsair Voyager Air Next article
Rating 3.24/5
Rating: 3.2/5 (51 votes)
comments powered by Disqus

Die hier veröffentlichten Artikel und Kommentare stehen uneingeschränkt im alleinigen Verantwortungsbereich des jeweiligen Autors.
Poster Thread
Sprache wählen
Werbung

Comments
Werbung

Werbung
Who is Online
48 Besucher sind Online (28 halten sich im Bereich Reviews auf)

Mitglieder: 0
G&aauml;ste: 48

mehr...